Carolyn Larabell to Receive Shirley Award at Advanced Light Source (ALS) User Meeting

Congratulations to our own Carolyn Larabell for receiving the Shirley Award at the Advanced Light Source (ALS) User Meeting.

Carolyn Larabell, Director of the National Center for X-Ray Tomography (NCXT), centered around ALS Beamline 2.1, has been selected by the ALS Users’ Executive Committee to receive the 2017 David A. Shirley Award for Outstanding Scientific Achievement at the ALS. The award is named in honor of Shirley, a UC Berkeley Professor of Chemistry and Berkeley Lab Director from 1980 to 1989 who was instrumental in having the ALS built. UEC Chair Monika Blum will present the award to Larabell at the upcoming ALS User Meeting for her work pioneering soft x-ray tomography for imaging cells in their fully hydrated, functional state and for establishing the NCXT, a world-leading research facility funded by the National Institutes of Health and the Biological and Environmental Research Division of DOE…. Full Press Release HERE

Larabell Lab

Carolyn’s Profiles Page

Anatomy Department Home Page